Through Painted Smiles…

I painted this smile on my face to hide my broken heart.
If only you knew from the very start,
How much I had wanted you to stay,
Then maybe you wouldn’t have gone away.
If I had told you what I truly felt,
Maybe I could have changed the circumstances life had dealt.
Things would be different, and so would we,
I wouldn’t have to paint a smile to hide my misery.
If only I had told you before you left me behind,
Instead of leaving words unsaid, I should’ve spoken my mind.
But I was afraid of how you’d react, and I gave into my fears,
Now I wish I hadn’t, because behind my smile are unshed tears.

~alyz_28~ “o”

~ by agaw28 on August 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
