Hope

I can’t seem to look at the sky anymore,
My eyes are down, transfixed on the floor.
Walking aimlessly, head bowed in defeat,
Until I hear the welcoming crunch of grass beneath my feet.
I still keep my eyes fixed on the ground,
And as I walk, I see leaves of yellow and brown.
The fallen leaves move in the autumn breeze,
And my ears hear the rustling leaves in the trees.
As the wind lifted my spirits, I finally raise my head,
I see the beauty of the scene around me – the rain of leaves up ahead.
The ends of my lips curl up to form a smile that reaches my eyes,
The leaves have stirred hope in me, and I look up to the sky.

~alyz_28~ “o”

~ by agaw28 on March 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
