You Were

You used to be the first one I told,
You used to be the first to know.
Things have started to unravel, unfold,
Ever since I decided to let you go.
The decision was made not out of spite,
We’ve really just drifted apart.
It seems we’ve both given up the fight,
And it weighs heavily on my heart.
You have her and I have to leave,
Wishing you happiness all the same.
Allow me some reprieve or time to grieve,
We’ve both lost, and no one’s to blame.
Chances are you won’t even notice,
So happy you are with her.
But, hey, I’ll be fine, no worries,
I have the memories of who you were.

~alyz_28~ “o”

~ by agaw28 on January 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
